Nomura Sushi

As odd as it sounds, finally living on the coast, I was intimidated to finally try fresh sushi. As you can imagine, living inland means the sushi is as good as it can be from frozen fish. I knew once I tried fresh sushi it would change the game for me and for that reason I waited with anticipation.

Yesterday I was walking along Ventura Blvd and noticed a sushi restaurant above On The Thirty with a tiny sign glimmering above. So, I took the plunge and checked it out.

What I fear about sushi restaurants is that ‘all I can eat’ is not very much. Nomura Sushi has a lunch menu with a salad, miso soup, one item and a complimentary second item for $10-$15 dollars. There are plenty of options from sushi to sashimi to full plated meals such as teriyaki. From my days in Ottawa I gravitate towards the rolls wrapped in avocado so it was a no-brainer to have the 911 roll: spicy tuna on the inside with avocado on the outside, and a spicy rating scale of 1-10 to suit my needs. In addition I ordered the three strips of sashimi.

Just as I had suspected, the freshness of this seafood was divine. Long strides from the sushi that was once frozen from the coast to Ontario. While I am positive there are sushi bars with superior cuts of fish and a portfolio of creative rolls that will well outdo that of the ‘typical’ menu of Nomura, I am officially spoiled with the quality of seafood and the fantastic service and flavors (not to mention the prices) at Nomura Sushi.

Nomura Sushi Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

