Crave Cafe

I have read a bunch of articles about what happens to people when they move to LA. You know? Things like ‘you’ll miss the seasons’ or ‘you’ll learn to order Kale with everything’… but nobody told me I would soon learn to accept lineups at places that are absolutely worth it.

When I first moved here people were telling me (mostly due to the fact I was destined to walk everywhere) that I had to go to Crave Cafe. Nobody could really describe it when I asked why it was so good. And then when I went it all seemed to make sense. There is no way to describe a place that offers the widest variety of deli, pub and breakfast options, including desserts, all of which are made from healthy alternatives and cater to customizations from an endless list of add-ons. For what it is, its surprisingly not that loud inside, and one long lineup goes nearly halfway down the block but its totally worth it. Maybe its because there is a giant sign inside that apologizes for the wait during busy hours. Maybe its because the prices are affordable or the options cater to all diners, or that no matter how long the lineup there always seems to be a vacant table and you never feel like they are pushing you out? Or maybe its that the portion sizes are for the hungry. Im not sure, but for the first time in my life I waited half an hour in a lineup to have a deliciously healthy meal.

The first time I went to crave I had the breakfast quesadilla.  3 eggs, hash browns, turkey bacon, cheese, salsa, avocado for $7.99. Look at this thing? Where on earth can you get all this food for $7.99. And damn tasty. No fancy shcmancy flavors or ingredients. Just what I listed.

The second time I went, I had the Caprese panini. Oh man! Buffalo mozzarella, basil, tomato, balsamic vinegar. Perfectly browned on the outside, and the right amount of meltiness.

And the third time. … the time I waited half an hour just to order my food – I stood in line with people who didnt utter a single complaint about the wait time. I got up to the counter and ordered a coffee for here and the grilled chicken savory crepe. Oh So Good!

Anyways, the moral of the story is you get what you pay for. Only bare minimum ingredients, only bare minimum prices.

Crave Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

